Belts & Promotions


Like many martial arts, Taekwondo has ranks called ‘geup’. The grading in Taekwondo consists mainly of patterns, ‘poomsae’, techniques and theory. Theory is displayed verbally and expresses information on Korean words, vital information such as the rules of the sport and a general understanding and knowledge of Taekwondo.

New students begin at 10th ‘geup’ (white belt) and advance down in number to 1st ‘geup’. After gaining their 1st ‘geup’, the students then advance into an intermediate rank and they become a “black belt candidate”. That follows a ‘dan’ test, after which the student becomes a ‘1st dan black belt’.


Find out more about
‘Geup’ ranks and belt colors
Black belt – Dan ranks


Comments are closed.